How to finish a race…

I wanted to add a couple of my favorite race finish videos to this blog.  Before most big races, I’ll watch these videos to remember that irrational struggle between pain, fatigue, and the ultimate exhilaration of finishing.  If I’m on course for a personal best, the world seems to slow down and all I see is the finish line…my legs are pumping, feet floating.  It’s a little cliché, I know, but it is what it is.

I also watch them to remember that the finish line ends 10ft past the banner.  Never slow up…Push through the finish line.

These are some quotes from Steve Prefontaine and Jesse Owens.  Always good for some pre-race psych-up.  Remembering these during those low points in a race can give you a reserve when you need it…I promise.

Steve Prefontaine:

“A lot of people run a race to see who is fastest. I run to see who has the most guts, who can punish himself into exhausting pace, and then at the end, punish himself even more.”

“Don’t let fatigue make a coward of you.”

“You have to wonder at times what you’re doing out there. Over the years, I’ve given myself a thousand reasons to keep running, but it always comes back to where it started. It comes down to self-satisfaction and a sense of achievement.”

Jesse Owens:

“One chance is all you need”.

Videos:

1. Bevan Docherty’s massive, come from behind, sprint to take an ITU triathlon race, “Heart of a Champion”

 

2. Chicago Marathon 2007:  Berhane Adere, Ethiopian Marathoner takes win with blazing final kick.

Leave a comment

Filed under Triathlon

Give me a shout!

